THE North West Counties League has confirmed that three clubs will be promoted from its top-flight at the end of next season.

There will be no play-offs to decide who joins the champions at a higher level though.

The extra places are available to fill vacancies in a new division, due to be ready for the 2020-2021 campaign, at step four as part of an ongoing restructure of the National League System.

“Next season is about completing that process which means another year of slightly altered rules,” Paul Lawler, the league’s chairman, told the Guardian.

The Northern Premier League confirmed last month that its bid had been successful to operate the new division.

Meanwhile the Football Association unveiled on Sunday a provisional line-up for the North West Counties League ahead of the 2019-2020 season.

1874 Northwich, Northwich Victoria and Winsford United are again part of a 20-strong Premier Division.

They are joined by Longridge Town and Rylands, champions of First Division North and First Division South respectively.

A third team, Avro, join them as a reward for having one of the best points-per-game averages at step six.

Meanwhile Skelmersdale United return to the competition following a 13-year absence following their demotion from the Northern Premier League.

City of Liverpool take their place.

A final change sees Silsden, based in West Yorkshire, move sideways to the Northern Counties East League.

Members have to approve the proposed constitution during the their annual meeting in Blackpool next month.

North West Counties League

Premier Division

Provisional line-up for 2019-2020 season*

1874 Northwich

Ashton Athletic

Avro (promoted from North West Counties League First Division North)

Barnoldswick Town



Charnock Richard

Congleton Town

Hanley Town


Litherland REMYCA

Longridge Town (promoted from North West Counties League First Division North)

Northwich Victoria


Runcorn Town

Rylands (promoted from North West Counties League First Division South)

Skelmersdale United (relegated from Northern Premier League West Division)

Squires Gate

Whitchurch Alport

Winsford United

*To be ratified by members during North West Counties League’s annual meeting on June 15