THE elections taking place in Cheshire West this May have been confirmed by authorities.

On May 6, residents will be able to cast their ballot in the Cheshire-wide police and crime commissioner vote, CWAC by-elections, town and parish polls, and neighbourhood referendums.

Officials say that several measures will be put in place to help ensure polling stations are Covid-safe for everyone to use.

Cheshire West Returning Officer, Andrew Lewis, said: “After the postponement of elections from last year, 6 May 2021 is an important date for local democracy. These elections take place under unique circumstances, and important measures are being put in place to ensure everyone has the confidence to cast their vote safely.

“There are also some other changes to polling stations since the last elections. Please check the details on your polling card very carefully when it arrives over the next few weeks. It might be in a different location to the one you usually attend."

When visiting the polling station, residents will be asked to wear a face covering (unless you have a valid exemption), bring their own pen or pencil, and follow signs and guidance from staff at the station to adhere to social distancing rules.

The public is also being encouraged to consider voting by post or proxy if they feel more comfortable to do so.

CWAC says more than 8,000 residents have already done so, with the deadline to register at 5pm on April 20.

Full list of elections in Cheshire West taking place on May 6, 2021:

  • Police and Crime Commissioner, Cheshire Constabulary
  • Cheshire West and Chester Council by-election: Frodsham
  • Cheshire West and Chester Council by-election: Neston
  • Frodsham Town Council by-elections: Lakes and Waterside wards
  • Northwich Town Council by-election: Winnington and Castle ward
  • Malpas Parish Council
  • Moulton Parish Council
  • Neighbourhood Plan referendum: Clotton Hoofield
  • Neighbourhood Plan referendum: Darnhall
  • Neighbourhood Plan referendum: Utkinton & Cotebrook

You can register to vote by proxy or post by emailing or phoning 01244 977084.