NEW proposals for an electoral ward shake-up in west Cheshire would see the number of borough councillors drop by five to 70.

Following a review and further consultation on changes to Cheshire West and Chester Council wards, the Local Government Boundary Commission’s proposals are now ready to move through parliament.

The changes would separate Swanlow and Dene into two wards as well as taking part of Wharton to make the Gravel ward.

Cllr David Armstrong, CWAC ward member for Winsford Swanlow and Dene, said: “We’re now going back to the boundaries that we had years ago when it was just a one-member county council.”

The two councillors who currently serve the Swanlow and Dene ward will split and take a new ward each as a result of the boundary reshuffle.

Cllr Armstrong, a legal & finance cabinet member added: “They are also bringing some of the rural areas into the town with this reshuffle so it will be interesting to see how that works with constituent views and needs.”

Over and Verdin would stay the same.

Cllr Brian Clarke, CWAC ward member for Wharton, said: “There will be virtually no changes in Winsford that directly affect the way in which people are represented.

“As part of the reshuffle, the people living in those areas will be more able to recognise their local councillor, who will have a more targeted responsibility towards each ward.

“This means that residents can identify with their ward members much easier than before.”

The recommendations propose that those councillors should represent six three-councillor wards, 13 two-councillor wards and 26 one-councillor wards.

Prof Colin Mellors, chairman of the Commission, said: “We are extremely grateful to people across Cheshire West and Chester who took part in the review.

“The Commission has looked at all the evidence that was put forward during the consultation.

“We believe these recommendations deliver electoral fairness for voters as well as reflecting community ties throughout Cheshire West and Chester.”

n What do you think of the changes? Email